Day 1 Folkestone to Dole

450 miles thrown in the face of Edwin, not bad for a beginner. Although these days cars and roads are much more comfortable than when I was a kid. In the late 80’s such a trip would have needed 3 stopovers with the AA.

After a relax time in the ferry, here we are in France cruising towards the Alps with a beautiful sunshine. 


I’ve had so many questions from Edwin, it’s been educational too. What are windmills for? Why is there a time difference between UK and France etc…

Finally we stopped for our first night in a tent. I must admit, I’ve been concerned about this since I’ve never slept in a tent in my life. Edwin was really excited so it was reassuring. After waiting to see the international space station and check the planets, we fell asleep.I thought we would be frozen to death in the morning eaten by wolves but no. It’s genuinely warm. Must say, I’m a bit scared also. I tend to travel in hotels in a safe environment with aircon, flat screen TVs and a minibar. SO SLEEPING OUTSIDE??? A tent doesn’t protect from French chainsaw murderers.


So why am I writing this at 4h30 in the morning then?

This scratchy noise near us. I had to open the tent to see what was going on.

Only a rabbit. (Note to myself, next time I go camping get an AK47 on the dark web to secure cheap breakfast)

Leave a comment